Moving On

Moving on is easy
Like taking candy from a child
Like transplanting a tree;
Ask those of us who have
How painful some cries can be
How quickly trees wither on unfamiliar soil.

Moving on is easy
Like walking miles on a treadmill
Satisfied with electronic validation
And feeling hollow just the same.

Moving on is easy
Like watching a fish flounder on land
Or discarded jellyfish dessicating on the beach
And gasping for breath yourself.

I have moved on
From one memory to the next
Like a bird in a burnt forest
Flitting from ash to dust.

Author: Satyaki (Dev)

Pun enthusiast and part-time self-deprecationist. Interests include being mauled by my dog, reading existential comics and obsessing over hypothetical philosophical propositions. And Wikias.

4 thoughts on “Moving On”

  1. Incidentally, came across this poem by Elizabeth Bishop on brainpickings. If only we could hear poems talk to each other :) —
    The art of losing isn’t hard to master;
    so many things seem filled with the intent
    to be lost that their loss is no disaster.

    Lose something every day. Accept the fluster
    of lost door keys, the hour badly spent.
    The art of losing isn’t hard to master.

    Then practice losing farther, losing faster:
    places, and names, and where it was you meant
    to travel. None of these will bring disaster.

    I lost my mother’s watch. And look! my last, or
    next-to-last, of three loved houses went.
    The art of losing isn’t hard to master.

    I lost two cities, lovely ones. And, vaster,
    some realms I owned, two rivers, a continent.
    I miss them, but it wasn’t a disaster.

    —Even losing you (the joking voice, a gesture
    I love) I shan’t have lied. It’s evident
    the art of losing’s not too hard to master
    though it may look like (Write it!) like disaster.

Leave a comment

Under a Banyan tree

Thoughts on ecology, education and cognition

Studio Glibly

A constant work in progress, much like myself

Shades of Grey

Observations and reflections on daily life. Fascinated by sweep-under-the-carpet emotions, thoughts, stories, & experiences

yaskhan

I dream so I write ..

MEERA

A weekly comic for children by Anusha Parthasarathy, illustrated by Ashok Rajagopalan. The blog will be updated every Friday.

Skye Guye Reviews!

Film reviews, critiques, deconstructions and reconstructions. Home of Movie Repairman!

loquaciouslytaciturngirl

Just another WordPress.com site

She Talks Too Much

... and often to herself.

Half Light

The mundane musings of yet another compulsive dreamer