थोड़ा बैठ जाइए

Hindi, like most Indian languages, is extremely versatile in its phonetic structure and hence lends itself well to a plurality of poetic forms. I was out on a long walk today, and cooked up a string of haiku in Hindi. Unfortunately my Hindi lexicon is terrible, so forgive me for the simplicity of the verses.

I’ve dabbled in Hindi poetry before, but never really shared it anywhere. A friend told me it reminded her of Vikram Seth’s ‘Sit’ which is astounding praise, hence I’ve taken the (mis)step of posting it here.

क्यों भाग रहे हैं
बिना नज़ारे देखे?
थोड़ा बैठ जाइए।

थोड़ा रुक जाइए
ख्वाब देखना भूल न जाइए
थोड़ा हंस जाइए।

थोड़ा रुक जाइए
एक-आध चाय सुट्टा हो जाए?
थोड़ा बैठ जाइए।

फ़ोन रख दीजिए
एक-आध सांस ले लीजिए
थोड़ा बैठ जाइए।

मन भारी है ना?
ज़रूर, आंसू बहाईए!
फिर चलते जाइए।

जब चाहे आइए
खुलकर एक-आध गीत गाइए
थोड़ा बैठ जाइए।

Author: Satyaki (Dev)

Pun enthusiast and part-time self-deprecationist. Interests include being mauled by my dog, reading existential comics and obsessing over hypothetical philosophical propositions. And Wikias.

Leave a comment

Under a Banyan tree

Thoughts on ecology, education and cognition

Studio Glibly

A constant work in progress, much like myself

Shades of Grey

Observations and reflections on daily life. Fascinated by sweep-under-the-carpet emotions, thoughts, stories, & experiences

yaskhan

I dream so I write ..

MEERA

A weekly comic for children by Anusha Parthasarathy, illustrated by Ashok Rajagopalan. The blog will be updated every Friday.

Skye Guye Reviews!

Film reviews, critiques, deconstructions and reconstructions. Home of Movie Repairman!

loquaciouslytaciturngirl

Just another WordPress.com site

She Talks Too Much

... and often to herself.

Half Light

The mundane musings of yet another compulsive dreamer